Hello, Is It Me You’re Looking For?

The way you answer your phone is often the first impression people get of your business. When I answer the phone I often do the following:

– Smile. I may look like a nut case but it makes me happy.

– Stand up. This makes my voice fuller and richer sounding.

– Answer in the friendliest voice possible. I never want to sound like they are disturbing me.

– I also have a pen and paper write in front of me.  I will jot their name down as soon as they say it and that way I can mention it several times during the conversation.

– I try to answer every call possible.  I can’t tell you how many times I have been told they were so impressed because I actually answered the phone or that I actually returned their call. I want my clients to be impressed.

There are the few times that I am unable to answer the phone so I try to make sure my voice mail clearly states my name and why I am out.  I also make sure my voice mail is never full.  I want every client to feel like they are my only client.

Do you have any telephone tips?

One thought on “Hello, Is It Me You’re Looking For?

  1. Pingback: Hello, Is It Me You’re Looking For? « Service with a smile blog

Leave a Reply

